CATTLE QUEEN OF THE SCREEN

I loved seeing Giant on the big screen this past year at the TCMFF 2013 and listening to all of Jane Withers’s stories about the making of that legendary film, and this summer I was able to do a little bit of traveling Texas myself.

In August I made my annual summer trek to the hill country to see my last living aunt who is 92, and visited friends and family in the area. We woke up in the morning and had coffee while we fed the deer off of the back porch and talked about what lovely animals they are.

One special deer came up very close…

While driving through Dripping Springs, I saw this lovely pair of horses enjoying a summer nibble…

And I also attended the Blanco County Rodeo in August in Johnson City…

…where I took this blurry action shot of the legendary Leon Coffee, a rodeo clown who has been entertaining audiences and challenging the roughest rodeo circuits for 44 years and counting…

Read more about wonderful Leon Coffee here and see some live action video: http://www.khou.com/entertainment/rodeo-houston/Rodeo-clown–196637291.html
The excitement of cowgirl heaven also reminds me that Hollywood stuntwoman Martha Crawford Cantarini will be visiting The Silver Screen Oasis this weekend, September 28th and 29th, to discuss her work for such luminaries as Jean Simmons, Rhonda Fleming, and Carroll Baker.

To learn more about Martha Crawford Cantarini, or learn about her autobiography, Fall Girl: My Life as a Western Stunt Double, visit us here:
http://silverscreenoasis.com/oasis3/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=6343

Eleanor Parker and Martha Crawford Cantarini
Aren’t they amazing?

2 thoughts on “CATTLE QUEEN OF THE SCREEN

Leave a comment